28
Oct
09

Hello world!

I don’t feel like changing the title of the opening post because, well, it’s appropriate, but the content is definitely getting redone. Welcome to Wholly Crap Productions, which doesn’t have much in the way of productions just yet, though anything I do make will wind up here. I’m an amateur everything and on my way to being a professional epigrapher (fingers crossed on grad schools right now!), so depending on how much time I have (rarely much, if any), how much motivation I have (not too much better, admittedly), and what mood strikes me, you may find anything from recipes to pictures of computer projects, to videos, to comics, to linguistic and historical articles here. I think I had something I was planning to post as soon as the signup process was completed, but it’s two in the morning, and I just got back from work at quarter after one, so I’m too tired to really think of such things too well. Ah well.

Oh, yes, and although the primary language is English, don’t be surprised if some other languages pop up occasionally. I have some level of proficiency in (in order from best to worst) French, ancient Greek, Latin, Biblical/imperial Aramaic, German, Hebrew, and Arabic, with some tidbits from Japanese, Welsh, and Italian, and I’m working on learning Coptic right now. Even though I can’t really hold much of a conversation in any but French, nor read much without plenty of reference materials nearby beyond the first three, all of them come up in the course of my studies and my odd life, and I may occasionally toss something odd up there like how I like that horrendous expletives sound pretty in Italian, or a Greek poem I particularly like. In fact, here, just so this isn’t a complete waste, have Archilochus’ (Ἀρχιλόχος) elegaic fragment 103:

“πόλλ’ οἶδ’ ἀλώπηξ, ἀλλ’ ἐχῖνος ἓν μέγα.”

“The fox knows many wiles, the hedgehog but one great one.” In other words, you don’t have to be smart to survive if you’re sufficiently prickly!Tune in next time for Simonides 7 if I’m up to that much typing.

2 Responses to “Hello world!”


  1. 1 Σάσκια
    February 6, 2010 at 9:07 pm

    Greetings from one Philhellene to another! I really like your blog! I hope you will post more lyric, I’m reading all of Campbell for my exams right now and enjoying it a great deal. I was quite touched by Archilochus fragment 71 having just read about his sad love story
    “Εἰ γὰρ ὣς ἐμοὶ γένοιτο χεῖρα Νευβούλης θιγεῖν.”

    Have a great weekend!

  2. February 7, 2010 at 2:59 pm

    Thanks for your comments; unfortunately, at the moment I’m working on Σοφοκλοῦ Τραχίνιαι and the New Testament in Greek (and finally back in Latin with Vergilii Aeneid!), so although I may pick up Campbell now and again (because you’re right, lyric is entertaining), any Greek I throw in here is more likely to be an entertaining part of the play or an interesting bit of theology or literary reference from the Bible. I’ll probably spend more time on smaller fragments after I graduate in May, since I’m going to have at least a semester off before I start grad school.

    And you might be a little less sympathetic towards Archilochus if you ever read fragment 196A West at the end of the book (pp. 463-4 in the current edition), which is essentially about how he got his revenge. Then again, if you are indeed a philhellene, you may still consider him the hero for finding his revenge, like the epic heroes of old!


Leave a Reply

